top of page

The Art of Being Queer Exhibition - Martin Kamen

We are honoured to be featuring Martin Kamen in The Art of Being Queer Exhibition.

Artist Statement:

I am probably QUEER since 1999, but back in that time the term QUEER did not exist yet, at least not in Czech Republic. So back in time the public did not know what to think about me. For the art society I was too gay. For commercial photography I was too artistic. I do not like any kind of labels. But being named as a queer artist has helped me a lot, it helps right now, because I feel accepted and the society can see me clear without doubts. On the other hand again, I do not like labels and do not like stereotypes. I believe in chemistry of the art of life.So you can call me however you want, I remain faithful to my art work,  I try to keep developing and not staying in one place or with one style. If I ever start to repeat and follow a formula, please kill me. 7.1. 2019 I happily married my Love, my husband, my friend and my support Oscar Humberto Retamoza Cañedo.


In addition to Martin's beautiful photography, we are also featuring some of his hand painted customised paper dolls Titiriti.


Here is a short clip of Martin discussing his controversial piece "Apollo and Hyacinth" featured in the exhibition:




The Art of Being Queer Exhibition explores and celebrates queer artists and their work from around the globe. It provides an identity experience through which we assimilate the ongoing fight for queer representation not only in the art industry, but in mainstream media as a whole. This exhibition is curated by The Art of Being Queer, a growing organisation and podcast that highlights the censorship queer artists of all mediums face every day, and provides a platform on which these artists can showcase their work that is otherwise underrepresented, rejected, or hidden altogether.

The exhibition features multiple artists, all of whom have had different societal experiences and individual sets of struggles linked to their identity. Through art of many types, these brave artists demonstrate that identity, in its purest form, is not defined by biology or culture, but by what is felt within.


The exhibition takes place at Pineapple Black Gallery on the 27th, 28th and 29th of September during Middlesbrough Art Weekender. We would love for you to join us for our launch event on Friday 27th September, 5pm-8pm.


Middlesbrough Pop Up Pride is also taking place the same weekend. Throughout the afternoon, the Outdoor stage will be packed full of live performances. The line-up will be announced on the event page linked above! Alongside the performances, expect street theatre, arts and crafts, workshops and all the stalls and bars of Orange Pip Market. There will also be excellent nightlife events by Sapphires and Tiny through to the early hours.


-


bottom of page