top of page

Anna Mccrea - The Art of Being Queer Exhibition

We are excited to be featuring wonderful music by Anna Mccrea in The Art of Being Queer Exhibition!



Artist Statement:

On the 1st February, I released a new EP with is called “every time I let you in” it follows me falling in love with a straight girl who is also my best friend, and all the phases, questions and doubts I went through when I was in the midst of it. The lead song “wasted on you” sums up very well for me the whole EP and the feeling of thoughts racing through your head from all different aspects of the situations, and the scramble of trying to move on without losing a best friend.




Queer music means a lot to me and has become such a massive part of my life in the last few years as I’ve started to settle into and become fully comfortable with my sexuality. For me I write about my life and just like most mainstream songs about my romantic situations and tribulations, so for me the songs will be about women for as long as I’m into women, and this was a fact I used to struggle with a lot when I was younger, but now when I see how, fun I get out of listening to other queer musicians, I see how important it is for other queer musicians to write unbiasly about their life and experiences.



The Art of Being Queer Exhibition explores and celebrates queer artists and their work from around the globe. It provides an identity experience through which we assimilate the ongoing fight for queer representation not only in the art industry, but in mainstream media as a whole. This exhibition is curated by The Art of Being Queer, a growing organisation and podcast that highlights the censorship queer artists of all mediums face every day, and provides a platform on which these artists can showcase their work that is otherwise underrepresented, rejected, or hidden altogether.

The exhibition features multiple artists, all of whom have had different societal experiences and individual sets of struggles linked to their identity. Through art of many types, these brave artists demonstrate that identity, in its purest form, is not defined by biology or culture, but by what is felt within.

The exhibition takes place at Pineapple Black Gallery on the 27th, 28th and 29th of September during Middlesbrough Art Weekender. We would love for you to join us for our launch event on Friday 27th September, 5pm-8pm.

Middlesbrough Pop Up Pride is also taking place the same weekend. Throughout the afternoon, the Outdoor stage will be packed full of live performances. The line-up will be announced on the event page linked above! Alongside the performances, expect street theatre, arts and crafts, workshops and all the stalls and bars of Orange Pip Market. There will also be excellent nightlife events by Sapphires and Tiny through to the early hours.

-



bottom of page